Happy Mother’s Day!

Okay a day late but thats because I was enjoying the day with my Mom and spending time with my beautiful kids.  Sometimes moms need a day off too!

I’m sure we have all heard the saying “If you want to hear God laugh, tell him your plans.”  It couldn’t be more true in my life.  I never imagined Jake would come into my life when he did but he had always been a part of God’s plan.  Without him, I don’t know where I would be.  From the moment those little blue eyes opened up and looked at me I felt like the luckiest person in the world.

God showed me the miracle of life and second chances with Jake.  We have had so many fun adventures over the past seven years.

He always keeps me laughing and always keeps me smiling.  Don’t tell anyone but I still get those sweet kisses even today.

(I got one before he got on the bus this morning even in front of his friends!)

For so long I knew I wanted to have two children.  I wanted Jake to have a little brother or sister so he could always have someone to lean on when I’m not around one day.  I wanted him to be able to have a best friend like I have my sister.  This time around was going to be different, I was going to be able to enjoy being pregnant and be proud to show off my growing belly.  But again God laughed and said I have other plans for you.  No matter how hard my pregnancy was the second time around I was blessed with the most amazing little girl and I am a stronger person because of it.  I never thought I could love someone as much as I love Jake but through God’s plans I quickly realized that he will give you enough love to share and again I found myself staring into a new set of beautiful blue eyes!

It was at this moment I realized my life was complete.  I have my two babies and the most amazing family.

This time around I have been blessed to be able to stay at home with Emma Grace, something I was never able to do with Jake.  This time I’m  reading bed time stories and not Physics books to put the baby to bed.

And afternoons are spent working on homework at our kitchen table rather learning your weekly spelling words with someone else.  I am so blessed to have the life I have today.  I am blessed to have a second chance at life with Jake and another chance at being a mom with Emma Grace.  Life is a journey and I am so glad to be able to share it with these guys.

But lets be honest the only reason we are who we are today is because of OUR moms.  I know my mom is the real reason I am who I am today.  I don’t think I would have ever made it out of high school without her…who am I kidding I’m pretty sure I started giving her a hard time as soon as I was born.  The very first night I came home from the hospital I slept through the night and scared her to death, so yes I’ve been giving her a hard time since birth.  My mom held my hand through it all.  She told me it was going to be okay when I was scared and didn’t know how I was going to make it through.  She held my hand before I got married and through the birth of my two children.  She is my rock.  She is the REAL reason I am who I am today.  I love you Momma.

Happy Mother’s Day!

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

