Quick Homemade Italian Inspired Pizza

Okay so no its no where NEAR REAL Italian pizza.  Trust me I would much rather be back in a little pizzeria in Rome having a slice while the boys are drinking giant glasses of Peroni but alas here in the United States I’m going to have to make do.

Source

Growing up Momma always made her own pizza sauce and it was amazing.  Trust me I still never miss a pizza night at her house if I can help it! Well one of the first times I went to make pizza at home for the boys a couple years back I didn’t have time to make sauce so I just went with a little bit of olive oil on top of the crust with mozzarella and fresh basil and called it a day.  Well ever since then that we never have pizza sauce for our homemade pizzas, just some good ol’ olive oil.  I don’t know why but its just how we do around here!  Half the time we just check out what is in the fridge and slap one together.

We usually use Martha White thin and crispy pizza crust mix.  I usually love a thin crust pizza and this is what Momma always used to use so guess what…its what I use too!

All you have to do is mix it up, let it sit for a couple minutes bake it for 5 minutes add your toppings and pop it back in for 10 minutes.  Come on how easy is that?

This week I grilled some marinated chicken, Roma tomatoes, bacon and topped it with some mozzarella and fresh basil.  Again no pizza sauce just put a little bit of EVOO on top of the crust after the initial bake and you are good to go.  Try that one on for a quick homemade pizza night!

Leave a Reply

