Emma Grace 43 Weeks

Emma Grace is 43 Weeks Old!

Follow Emma Grace’s Weekly Photo Project Here!

Letters To Emma Grace

10 Months Old

Sweet, crazy Emma Grace this has been a wild month for the two of us.  We are learning more and more about each other every day.  Your scooting has turned into crawling which has sprung a new surge of independence.  You like to do things on your own and don’t like me to help.  When you try to pull up on something and get stuck you cry out in frustration but when I come by to help you just keep trying until you get it yourself.  In the mornings you don’t want me to brush your hair you always grab the comb from me and want to do it yourself.  Don’t worry I let you.  Even though you have almost poked your eye out a couple of times with the little bristles.  Your independence reminds me of Jake at times but no matter what at the end of the day he always needed me to help him get to sleep at your age.  Again, you not so much.  You don’t like to be rocked to sleep or held for too long.  After I put you in your crib you start screaming until I leave the room.  Sweet pea I love you and you are going to be just as stubborn as me!

Your eating habits have changed so much in the last month.  You really aren’t a big fan of puree foods anymore.  The only time you are really interested in them is if you are too hungry and impatient to feed yourself.  You will eat ANYTHING and EVERYTHING!  You always want whatever Daddy and I are eating.  So again tonight you ate dinner with us – chicken stuffed with ricotta cheese, spinach and tomatoes and zucchini sautéed in balsamic vinegar.  You will eat me out of house and home because you refuse to tell me when you are full.  I can feed you all day and you will never stop eating!  You have finally mastered your sippy cup by yourself and enjoy having a bit of water with your meals sometimes.  Nursing still continues to be a bit of a challenge because now that you know how to crawl you want to be on the move all the time.  I still cherish our morning snuggle time when you actually want to nurse.  You like to get as close to me as possible as we both lie in my bed and you like to put your hand on my face or play with my necklace.  There is no better feeling than those mornings!

This month you have been a little clingy and a little shy at times.  When you are around a lot of people you tend to get nervous and hold on to my shirt and cautiously look around but once you get comfortable you become your happy screaming self.  There have been a lot of tears this month because with your new independence you have learned the word “no.”  The first time I sternly told you “no” you cried uncontrollably because you realized I was upset with you.  There was no consoling you.  So I’ve learned that redirection is the best for now and I save that nasty word for only really important times.  Some tears have come from the fact that I could have sworn you were teething.  Three weeks ago you started chewing on everything and your gums are red and you are sad quite often….but still no teeth!  I hope they come soon.

Your personality is coming through more and more every day!  You now do what we call the “stink face” all the time where you crinkle your nose up and sniff at us as if something smells bad.  But no you do it as a way to be funny.  I’m glad I could catch it with this week’s photo.  My favorite part is if someone makes the face at you…you do it right back!  Jake realized this early on and the two of you could make silly faces at each other for hours!  You like to make cute faces at boys who for some crazy reason you like more than girls.  All of Mommy’s girlfriends you could care less about but when it comes to Daddy’s guys or especially your Uncle Kevin you light up!  Even today at the doctor’s office you gave the lady a stink face and flirted with the guy.  Oh Emma Grace what am I going to do with you???  I think I’ll just love you forever! 🙂

I love you!

Momma


2 thoughts on “Emma Grace 43 Weeks

Leave a Reply

