Where Do Big Wooden Letters Come From?

Before we start today I just have to ask…

jRoxDesigns Giveaway

No?  Well why not???  Click here to enter!

Have you guys checked out the newest products in our Etsy shop?  One of my favorites is the wooden letters!  Last week I gave you a little bit of background on all the newest products here and  today I thought I would give a little behind the scenes sneak peek at what goes into making some of our products.  Also if you follow us on Instagram you already know I got a NEW toy – a 16″ Scroll Saw!  I spent all weekend playing and have almost completely changed how I am now making a lot of the new products but I thought you would enjoy it anyways!

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

For most of the products I make I create templates that I can use over and over again but for this custom order I simply traced the “B” by using a projector.

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

Ah life before the scroll saw meant that I enlisted the help of a big daddy band saw which wasn’t bad for larger non curvy projects but wasn’t good for sharp corners!

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

Sharper turns meant the jig saw got some action too.

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

Ever wonder how to cut out the inside of shapes?  All you have to do is drill a small hole, place the blade inside and go from there!

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

Making super smooth lines are easy with a flush trim router bit.  Those things are so cool!

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

There is a bushing on the top (or bottom) that rides along a template and the bit evens your cutting edge to the edge of your template.

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

Smoothing out all of our projects has been so easy with Jeremy’s new toy from Christmas!  That sander is amazing!

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

Even though fancy tools are nice – there is no substitute for a good ‘ol hand sanding.

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

I love hand sanding.  I know it sounds silly but it’s almost therapeutic for me so rest assured…any product you receive from jRoxDesigns will be SUPER smooth!

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

I kinda of love woodworking…can you tell?  Yes…that is me hugging a big wooden letter 🙂

Wooden Letter Overview | jRoxDesigns

So there you have it.  A little sneak peek behind the scenes into an afternoon in the workshop.  Maybe once I get some time I’ll show you how my new scroll saw has changed my life! 🙂

Signature

One thought on “Where Do Big Wooden Letters Come From?

  1. Pingback: Happy 1st Blog Anniversary to jRoxDesigns! | jRoxDesigns

Leave a Reply

