A Modern Take On A High Hanging Mobile :: Nursery Tuesday

I love mobiles in nurseries.  They are so sweet and can add a bit of whimsy and personality into a room.  So I kind of feel like I cheated when I never really finished the mobile I had in mind for Emma Grace’s nursery.  Even though most parents start taking them down or out around 6 months (or when they can pull up for safety reasons) Emma Grace never really tried to play with hers…until last week.  By now I would have figured that she would could care less about it but she really likes to just hang out in her crib in the morning and watch it go around and around.  I had big plans for a fun mobile before she was born, but now it looks like if I want to keep something it needs to be hanging on the ceiling.  So I’ve looked around for a couple of ideas and have found a few.  Maybe I could even combine a couple of these ideas to make one awesome mobile?!

PomPomCollection

Live the Fancy Life

When I originally planned her nursery I had something like this in mind.  I even bought these same paper lanterns on sale and they are still hanging out in the box in my studio.  Maybe it is time to pull these out now!  Jessica from Live the Fancy Life did an awesome job on her son’s nursery.  I swear it is exactly what I would have done if we had a boy.  She combined bright green and turquoise on a neutral gray wall with modern furniture.  Sound familiar but with a touch of pink?!  So I know this would look good in her room.

Fabric Pom Poms

Nursery by Kim Johnson of Babinski Baby featured on Petite Lemon via Brittany D. on Pintrest

This nursery is too cute.  I should have included it on a my earlier post about yellow in the nursery but I completely missed it!  I love the fabric balls they are so simple and soft and I love how they are hung.  I think it would be a fun way to keep a mobile in the nursery even after baby has started to pull up in the crib.

Paper Circles Mobile

 E Tells Tales via Kali H. on Pintrest

This mobile is so clean and simple.  Elizabeth from E Tells Tales made this mobile to finish off her son Everett’s nursery out of paper circles and fishing line.  She describes it as “it’s pretty much the tiara of the crib and I love it,” I would have to agree because I love it too!  Check out the tutorial to make your own here.

Scallop Paper Balls

Cathy of California on Flickr via Candace D. on Pintrest

While I am on a DIY kick wouldn’t these be fun to hang from the ceiling?  Shoot who am I fooling of course I will DIY whatever I decide on.  No matter what it is I’m pretty sure she has outgrown her current mobile.  What do you think?

**UPDATE**

Martha Stewart Scallop Paper Balls

Martha Stewart

Look at what I found from Martha Stewart.  She made it with stacked tissue paper circles.  Pretty easy! Check it out complete with tutorial!

Low Hanging Mobile

5 thoughts on “A Modern Take On A High Hanging Mobile :: Nursery Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Brother and Sister Twin Nursery :: Nursery Tuesday | jRoxDesigns

  2. Pingback: Perfect Accessories and Updating Furniture with Paint:: Nursery Tuesday | jRoxDesigns

  3. Pingback: Emma Grace’s Nursery Reveal :: Nursery Tuesday | jRoxDesigns

  4. Pingback: Furniture Point of View Feature and Link Party! | jRoxDesigns

  5. Pingback: A Modern DIY Nursery Grows Into A Toddler Bedroom! | jRoxDesigns

Leave a comment